News 2013

Halton tops Niagara for cricket title

ST. CATHARINES – The Halton Cricket Club captured the Halton and District Cricket League’s Premier Division championship with an exciting victory over the Niagara Cricket Club Sunday at the Niagara Cricket Centre.

Niagara batted first with the partnership of Ilyas Karim and Faizan Siddiqui combining for 47 runs in 10 overs. SalmanThe Arshad then added 30 runs and Ahmed Habib before Eluas added 42 in the Captain’s inning. Niagara finished batting with 173 runs in the 40th over.

Niagara’s opening bowler Tawab Ikram got Niagara off to a great start taking Halton’s opening batsmen out for only one run. Halton kept losing wickets of Farooq Kirmani, Imran Raja and Javed Qureshi with the score still under 100 runs.

Halton rallied in the 36th and 37th over when Halton’s Shariq Khan scored a fast 24 runs helping Halton capture the title.


Niagara’s win over Burlington CC on Sunday to earn a shot at the Premiere Div. Championship

Niagara Cricket Club’s premiere teams posted a decisive win over Burlington City Cricket Club last Sunday at the Niagara Cricket Center.  Niagara won the knockout playoff game by 89 runs.

Burlington CC, winning the toss made a decision to field first. In reply, Niagara Premiere team opened their batting with Fiazan Siddiqui and Zia Sarwar. A combination of left and right hand batsman kept rotating strikes and put Burlington on the back foot with their solid opening partnership of 119…runs in the first 24 over. Zia was given out LBW and Tawab Ikram joined to move the run rate further but lost his wicket early. Batting quick over the in the middle, Ali Hafeez added 23 runs. Skipper Elyas Karim, playing a captains innings remained not out at the crease with his fast pace 33 when Niagara finally closed its inning with a respectable total of 234 at the 40th over.

Chasing a total of 234 and under pressure, Burlington lost their first wicked of Imran Aslam at the hands of Tawab Ikram in his very 1st over. Tawab, known for his fierce attack gave the early breakthrough taking 3 wickets of top order batmen and set the tone. Zeeshan Arshad bowled superbly form the opposite end and only gave away 24 runs to take 3 wickets in his spell.  Naveed Sehrai and Bilal Akhtar batted well for visitors scoring 45 and 33 respectively. However, Burlington lost wickets in frequently intervals and were all out for a grand total score of only 145 runs.

The championship game will be held at NCC – Niagara Cricket Center next Sunday Sept 22nd at noon.  NCC, known in closed circles as “The field of dreams” is now truly living its dream of  “If you built it ..they will come” as the Premiere League Championship game gets scheduled between Halton Cc and Niagara CC at the center locally here at NCC on Sunday Sep  22nd . Admissions are free with plenty of parking. For directions please visit


For Immediate Release : Sept 11, 2013

Niagara Cricket Club Premiere team, being the top seeded in the District League has now qualified to move into semi-final playoff knock out match to be held this Sunday Sept 15th at local home cricket grounds at NCC – Niagara Cricket Center, 5114 Thorold Town Line Road.  The knock out match will be held between Niagara Cricket Club and Burlington City premiere team.

Burlington City team, after winning in the quarterfinals over Oakville City will now travel to play Niagara CC at the Niagara Cricket Center. The match will start at noon.

For more information please contact Tan Qureshi at (905)329-8261 or visit


Happy New Year 2013.

Besides returning players 2012, NCC has been receiving large numbers of requests from strong league players to join here this season. All new requests to join were placed in a proper process queue and handed over to Club ED Mr. Lashford and the board members for approvals. The applications for new members will be accepted for review till Feb 15th, 2013.

All the following membership application received from the 2012 returning players received thus far were all accepted by the board.

1- Mr. Nick Lashford

2- Mr. Ali Hafeez

3- Mr. Virender Singh

4- Mr. Elyas Karim

5- Mr. Hirendar Singh

6- Mr. Qasim Yaqoob

7- Mr. Iqbal Seta

8- Mr. Habib Karzai

9- Mr. Mohamad Koya

10- Mr. Tahir Khan

11- Mr. Ahmed Habib

12- Mr. Zia Sarwar

13- Mr. Tan Qureshi

14- Shahab Qureshi

15- Mr. Cubby Sudan

16- Amjad Ahmed

17- Mr. Javed Mian

18- Mr. Umar Farooq

19- Mr. Sanyam Jain

20- Mr. Saqib Mohtashim Khan 

21- Mr. Brandon Olwage